footsteps

I have made myself a new schedule, which I put into effect this past week. In it, I strive for a 10-mile week. To serious health buffs and diligent walkers, that’s probably laughable, but it’s the best I can do in a city so seemingly bent on making it as hard as possible to walk anywhere for any real purpose (and I don’t like walking around just to walk – I like to have purpose).

Sure, we have our greenways (did that!) and our Ys and our treadmills, but Charlotte, and Matthews in particular, is not a walker-friendly city. I mean, seriously, Matthews – what’s with Highway 51’s bridge over Independence Boulevard?! Do you want people to die walking, or was that just poor planning on your part?

If one lives uptown, I suppose it’s relatively simple to walk the city blocks from one place to another (but only to eat out and go to shows – where are the grocery stores?). Here in Matthews, though, they didn’t lay things out as closely, and the easiest place to visit when walking is, of course, the drugstore. Not by accident, I’m sure.

Anyway, I am so happy to say that this past week was a triumph, and I believe I was able to achieve my 10-mile goal. Not that I have a pedometer or anything, but if my information is correct, it was at least close. We’ll see how long I can keep it up after the new has worn off (that’s always the trouble, isn’t it?).

Leave a Reply

