babyhood

Today, as is usual for Thursdays, I had a lovely afternoon babysitting my small niece, Sophia. This consists of arriving on time, seeing her mother off amid waves and hugs, playing for 22 minutes, and then popping the baby in the crib for, generally, the remainder of my stay in her home. It’s quite the deal.

This time, I got to get her up from her nap. Outside, a hot breeze was moving the trees around, and Sophia seemed quite interested in stretching her legs. We checked the mail, but that didn’t do it for her. So we sat on the front stoop, which is a four-inch-high piece of concrete outside the front door. Sophia immediately became fascinated with stepping down off the step, turning around, and reclimbing the step. This, of course, was done with my help. My hand steadied her ascent, as her chubby little leg strained and flexed to lift her little body onto the step, and both my hands held her carefully as she stepped down (don’t want a Sophia Face Plant happening without her mom around – can you imagine the look on Morgan‘s face?!?!?).

I lost count of how many times Sophia went up and then down and then up and then down that one little step.

And I thought, “This is babyhood. This is life. Doing something over and over and over again, just to experience it. That’s what babies do, forever, and sometimes (a lot of times, I would say) with someone else’s help (like in this case – she certainly wouldn’t have made it down that step more than once, trust me).”

So that made me think that immature people never grow out of babyhood. There are some big babies out there who mooch off of other people, live on someone else’s dime, have parents and family and friends help them out all the time, without thanks or payment. Naturally, the parents/family/friends should feel it a blessing just to be able to help, right? Technically, yes, but that doesn’t excuse the behavior.

Whether or not they “face plant”, those kinds of people need to wise up and grow up. You’reΒ not a baby anymore, you know? Be there for someone else!

4 thoughts on “babyhood

    • I got all excited there for a minute thinking Mr. Rogers, Sir, had actually commented on my blog, when I didn’t even know he was reading it.

      πŸ˜›

      Maybe the hammer needed to be thrown? There are a lot of people out there who are raising children who never really grow up. They should think twice about that.

      • He and Captain America share many similarities πŸ™‚

        As long as you’re throwing hammers, the house isn’t being built. Your idea of maturity sounds sick: chasing novelty alone.

  1. No, that’s not what I’m saying at all. My idea of maturity is doing things on your own – not with someone else’s help. Don’t always depend on those hands helping you up and down. BE the hand that helps another person. It’s not necessarily new things, novel things. It’s anything.

Leave a Reply

