ruth, the laundress

My parents so generously offered to get us a washer and dryer for our new home. Aren’t parents the greatest?! We think so.

After going to four different appliance stores in the area, my mom and I found a pair we thought would work. She went home to tell my dad about it. Shortly thereafter, I received an email from my dad. It went like this:

Julianna,

Your Mother told me of the shopping trip you took this morning to look at washing appliances, and that you found a pair that would work in your new home at Plaza Appliance.
Allyn replied, “Wait, my daughter, until you learn how the matter turns out,
for your father will not rest but will settle the matter today.” – Ruth 3:18
Now Joseph had gone up to Plaza Appliance and sat down there.
And behold, the salesman, of whom Allyn had spoken, came by.
So Joseph said, “Turn aside, friend; sit down here.”
And he turned aside and sat down.
Then he said to the salesman,
“Julianna, who is moving to the country of Indian Trail,
is looking to purchase a washer and dryer for her new home.
So I thought I would tell you of it and say,
‘Sell it to me now that I may give it to my daughter.’
 If you will sell it at a fair price, I will buy it.
But if you will not, tell me, that I may know,
for there are many appliance stores in this town.”
And he said, “I will sell it.” – Ruth 4:1-4
Yes. That’s my dad. He’s cool.
Leave a Reply

