sukkot 5774

As I write this, I am sitting in my beautiful sukkah, which my husband and I put up together, and which I decorated all by myself (definitely a first – I’ve never had that decorating knack).

[A sukkah, for the uninitiated, is a temporary structure we put up for about a week during the Hebrew month of Tishrei. We do this because G-d commanded us to do so in Leviticus 23:39-44.]

Joshua has commented on how manly it makes him feel, buying materials and personally fulfilling one of G-d’s commandments, rather than doing it as a part of his father’s family. I feel the same! Not manly, but…grown-up. Building a sukkah every year is something I’ve watched my parents/family do for a long time. You could almost say I grew up watching (and helping with) it. Now, on the other side of marriage, Joshua and I are doing it together. And if I don’t go buy some decorating materials and decorate it, it won’t be decorated. That’s *my* responsibility now – no one else’s (not that decorating a sukkah is a commandment, but it certainly makes the fulfillment of the command to dwell in our booths much more pleasant, you know?).

Joshua’s parents and younger brother are in Jerusalem right now, privileged to celebrate the festival in G-d’s Holy Land. WISH I WAS THERE. But it’s ok. 🙂 It has been a sweet adventure celebrating Sukkot here in Charlotte, and building traditions into our new life together. This is the first Sukkot since we’ve been married, and already, we have fun traditions to repeat next year.

For instance, on the first day of the holiday, which in Hebrew is referred to as a Yom Tov (literally, “good day”), which means it’s a day you’re supposed to take off of work (according to Leviticus 23:39), Joshua cooked me huevos rancheros for breakfast. It was delightful! I got to sit at the kitchen table and look through magazines, sipping hot baked cinnamon apple tea, while he flipped eggs and tortillas around in the pan. And then we took it out and at it in our sukkah together. This will definitely be a continuing tradition. 😀

I would like to end this post with a big shout-out to my sister, Christine, who invited me up to her home before Sukkot began and patiently helped me paint a banner to decorate my sukkah. Just wouldn’t be the same without that personal touch – thanks, Christine!!

One thought on “sukkot 5774

Leave a Reply

