when it rains

On Saturday night, one of our neighbors hit Joshua’s car. Tapped it as she was pulling out of her driveway (he was parked on our curb). It’s not a huge deal, just a little dent. But, of course, it will necessitate however many days in the shop to get it repaired, which means getting a rental or me driving Joshua to and from work every day. At least Joshua is absolutely 0% at fault.

Also on Saturday night, we found out that our credit card number was stolen. Someone in Arizona was buying up the store contents of American Eagle, Hollister, and Fossil. Makes me think it was a teenager or college kid…but I don’t know how they got a hold of the card. It stinks mainly because that credit card is our main spending vehicle, and until we get it replaced, we’re scrambling around with our debit cards and secondary and tertiary credit cards. I tried to use one of my other credit cards in a store today, and it got declined. Since it has no balance on it, and I only just got it two months ago, I called to find out why. The pleasant woman on the other end of the line assured me that there had been a store error and that nothing was wrong with my card or account, and that I am in good standing with them. I tried it at the next store, and it got declined again.

I’m contemplating cutting it up and throwing it in the trash.

Our beautiful, two-story home feels like springtime upstairs and winter downstairs. If anyone has any tips for how to balance things out a little more evenly, I am all ears. Thank G-d for the fireplace. And I mean that quite literally.

This is NOT a post complaining about the “bad” things happening right now. I actually think it’s all kind of funny, with the exception, perhaps, of Joshua’s poor car. That’s not funny, but not as bad as it could be. 🙂

On another note, has anyone ever made marshmallows? I’m toying with the idea…

One thought on “when it rains

  1. CLOSE the AC/Heater vents nearly all the way upstairs and OPEN the vents downstairs all the way. Consider using plastic over the windows to keep out the cold downstairs, as well as thermal drapes. Be sure the flew of the chimney is closed when not in use. Consider a Dyson bladeless heater to take the edge off.

Leave a Reply

